Cholmondeley Award 2008  


In July 2008, John Greening received a Cholmondeley Award from the Society of Authors in recognition of his body of work in the field of poetry.  The judges were Dennis O’Driscoll, Henry Shukman, Carol Satyamurti and David Morley. Other recipients for 2008 were David Harsent, Sarah Maguire and John Burnside (pictured).The prize was awarded by Terry Pratchett (above, right) at a ceremony in Barts Great Hall.  John Greening was himself one of the judges for the 2008 Gregory Awards (for poets under thirty), which were presented on the same evening.